IMG 5093 8b9ad a967f

Tikrit University is an important cultural center to spread scientific development. It was founded in 1987 when the legislature established the College of Education for Women, which is the root of Tikrit University because it is the first college founded in addition to the College of Medicine and Engineering. They applied a strict educational system depending on solving issues. That system was the hardest in Iraq and Middle East.

Tikrit University is considered the first university in the northwest part of Iraq. Those three colleges were samples for the future educational institutions under the system of higher studies and scientific research in 1970.

The university expanded and colleges opened starting with College of Education that has split into two colleges: College of Education for Humanities and College of Education for Pure Science in 2013. Tikrit University include the following colleges:
1-College of Education for Women 1988
2-College of Medicine 1989
3- College of Engineering 1989
4- College of Education 1992
5- College of Agriculture 1993
6- College of Science 1998
7- College of Administration and Economy 2000
8- College of Pharmacy 2002
9- College of Dentistry 2004
10- College of Arts 2006
11-College of Veterinary 2006
12-College of Islamic Sciences 2006
13- College of Computer Sciences and Mathematics 2007
14- College of Law 2007
15- College of Physical Education 2007
16-College of Political Sciences 2011
17- College of Petroleum and Minerals 2011
18- College of Education / Tuz Khurmatu 2011
19- College of Basic Education/ Sharqat 2012
20-College of Applied Engineering 2012
21-College of Nursing 2013
22-College of Education for Humanities and Pure Sciences 2013
The vision of the university is to graduate excellent students developed in research, academic and technological levels. It seeks to innovate and serve the community locally and globally, and is recognized as a leader in high-quality education and apply knowledge for the benefit of a highly developed community.